home > search >
GamesFirst! Online since 1995
:: 1 2 :: next

Keywords: Sort by: Look in:
Check box to search full phrase only.


Not finding what you need? Check the really old stuff using Google!

Google
 
Web GamesFirst.com


Search for 'reviews' returned 24 results.

Gerstmann Allegedly Fired Over Kane and Lynch Review
game: Kane and Lynch
news | 11/30/07 | Chris Martin
If this is true, Gamespot will be allegedly losing one of it\'s finest reviewers over a critically mediocre game, Kane and Lynch: Dead Men.

Primotech stated yesterday that Jeff Gerstmann, 10 year veteran on Gamespot.com, has been fired.
According to a fellow Gamespot contributor and close friend of Gerstmann who wished to remain anonymous, the editor was fired Wednesday morning because of his negative review of the game, which he awarded a 6.0. Comparably speaking, Metacritic lists Kane and Lynch as currently having a 68% average from critics.


Although Primotech admits there might be other reasons for Gerstmann\'s leave, but as of now there have been no announcements by Gerstmann.
click here for more

Halo 3 Review
game: Halo 3
review | 10/08/07 | Chris Martin
You\'ve been watching The Ticker, you\'ve seen the reviews, you\'ve been playing the game. Halo 3 has had a phenomenal launch, selling over 2 million copies in the first night of release. We\'ve taken the good Master Chief into the heart of the ark, killed hundreds of thousands of Covenant, and rescued Cortana from the clutches of the Gravemind. Now here\'s our review of the most anticipated videogame of 2007. Is Halo 3 still the reason to own an Xbox 360?
click here for more

The Halo 3 Review Ticker
game: Halo 3
feature | 09/23/07 | Chris Martin
Tuesday can\'t come soon enough. But if you\'re looking for Halo 3 reviews, and what all the buzz is about, then we\'ve got you covered. Gamesfirst has the links to all the Halo 3 reviews, as well as overall thoughts from sites all over the interweb. Our own review is forthcoming (as we have to wait for the release) but in case you\'re curious about what everybody else is saying, this article is for you.

Come back to this article to see updated reviews as the week, and the Halo 3 playing, continues.
click here for more

SEGA Rally Revo Demo On Xbox Live
game: Sega Rally Revo
news | 09/17/07 | Chris Martin
So, in case you missed it, I\'m pretty stoked about SEGA Rally Revo for Xbox 360. Some early reviews are in: IGN UK gave it 8.8/10 and EuroGamer gave it a 9/10. Knowing this makes me ache for it more. If you\'re thinking about picking up SEGA Rally Revo, it\'s officially out today (09/17/07) in the UK--those in the US will have to wait until October 9th. And if you just want to check it out first, the Demo has just hit Xbox Live. At over half a gig, it\'s one of the smaller demos out there, but we\'ll let the gameplay speak for itself.
click here for more

2 New Demos on Live: Eternal Sonata and Vampire Rain
news | 08/07/07 | Chris Martin
Just arrived on Xbox Live today are two new demos. Eternal Sonata from Namco Bandai is likely to satisfy all those eager for a JRPG on Microsoft\'s console, and Vampire Rain, which is, something else entirely. I personally am excited for Eternal Sonata, as I haven\'t played a JRPG in some time and it looks fantastic from previews. I\'m less excited for the universally panned Vampire Rain, where you\'re an elite special forces unit sent to thin out the vampire ranks. Impressions forthcoming.
click here for more

Brain Boost: Beta Wave and Brain Boost: Gamma Wave Reviews
game: If Only They Could All Be Brain Age
review | 01/09/07 | Laurie Taylor
The success of Brain Age has helped to launch an entire genre into the public mindset. While video games will probably always revolve around high action and high intensity, games designed to make you smarter have established a slower, more serious side of gaming. Yet even games that are designed to make you smarter have to be fun, and Majesco\'s Brain Boost series for the Nintendo DS simply doesn\'t make the cut. We take a look at Brain Boost: Beta Wave and Brain Boost: Gamma Wave to see if there\'s a winning combination of entertaining puzzles and something to improve the mind; we\'re not entirely convinced we found either.
click here for more

Treasure's Gems: A History of Action Gaming
feature | 02/20/06 | RJ Brooks
They are one of the often unsung heroes of the game development industry. But the consistently high quality of titles has proven numerous times why Treasure is one of the best game development houses in existence. With such fan classics as Gunstar Heroes and Astro Boy in their library, Treasure\'s games have created a rabid fanbase of twitch gamers and import junkies. Our man, Robert Brooks, has a retrospective of Treasure\'s games along with five classic retro reviews, each going live over the next week. Check it out here.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up #16
podcast | 01/13/06 | Val Townsend
This week in the Wrap-Up, Val Townsend, the Atomic Goddess, takes gamers on an audio adventure through the recent history of video gaming. In addition to a summary of recent news, Val has reviews of Kameo: Elements of Power (XB360), Cuban Missile Crisis: The Aftermath (PC), and those cute little GelTabz (multi). Rounding out this week\'s podcast is a preview of Square/Enix\'s Code Age Project, which spans games on mobile phones, PS2, and a comic book series. Serve yourself up a heaping helping of steaming hot podcast goodness, right here.
click here for more

GamesFirst! Weekly Wrap-Up Number 15
podcast | 01/07/06 | Val Townsend
This week in the Wrap-Up, Val checks out the biggest gaming news of the last couple weeks, catching us up on any news we missed while we were stuffing our gullets on stuffing and gullets. She also checks out reviews of PoPoLoCrois for PSP, Kosumi for PC, and Call of Duty 2 for Xbox 360 and PC. After all that, she serves up a tasty preview of Chromehounds, coming soon to Xbox 360 from the makers of the legendary Armored Core series. Get the latest podcasty goodness from your pals at GF!
click here for more

Happy Holidays From GF!
news | 12/25/05 | Shawn Rider
On behalf of the staff of GamesFirst!, we would like to take this space to wish all of our staff, readers and colleagues a happy, happy holiday season. We wouldn\'t be here without you, and we know that. On our 10th holiday season, we are thankful for all the people who have helped make GamesFirst! what it is today. Our staff is among the best online, and we value your efforts. To our fellow websites (especially the ones who kick down the kind links), we thank you. You know who you are, and you inspire us to do better. To all of the game developers, PR reps, and publishers who work with us on a daily basis, we want to extend our most sincere gratitude. We couldn\'t do what we do without your continued support, and life wouldn\'t be as much fun without you.

And, of course, we want to wish Happy Holidays to our readers. We are proud to be able to serve you for the past 10 years, and we look forward to number 11. Without you, we\'d just be posting up articles for our mothers to read, and although they never complain about our reviews or call us idiots, GF! would feel pretty empty without you. Thanks.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up #14
podcast | 12/23/05 | Val Townsend
This week in the Wrap-Up, Val takes a look at a bunch of the reviews we couldn\'t fit into other podcasts. We rundown some of the best games of the season, including the wild-west adventure game GUN, the vehicular mayhem of Need for Speed: Most Wanted, the stylish Project Gotham Racing 3, alien warfare in Quake 4, and the handheld racing action of Mario Kart DS. We\'re cutting the crap and getting right to the goods. Check it out.
click here for more

GamesFirst! Weekly Wrap-Up: Lucky Number 13
podcast | 12/16/05 | Val Townsend
Val Townsend, the Atomic Goddess, is back again with lucky podcast number 13. This week, we take a look at the latest news, including speculation on Nintendo\'s recently hinted \"secret\" regarding the upcoming Revolution console, as well as Clinton and Lieberman\'s Family Entertainment Protection Act. We also have reviews of Perfect Dark Zero and King Kong. Finally, we take a look at Dreamcatcher Interactive\'s cult-hit Painkiller, coming to an Xbox near you in January. Download the latest audio offering from your pals at GF! right here.
click here for more

Interview: The Story Behind Amped 3
game: Amped 3
interview | 11/16/05 | Aaron Stanton
The Xbox 360 is only days away from making its way into your home (if you\'re lucky), and the development community is collectively holding their breaths. In the last minutes before the first reviews begin showing up for games on Microsoft\'s new system, there\'s just a little bit of time for developers to say a word or two about their games before everyone gets a go at them. We take a moment to talk with Indie Built\'s Aaron Connors, Amped 3\'s Story Director, about one of the 360\'s first sports titles.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up Podcast #11
podcast | 11/11/05 | Val Townsend
Here it is, another episode of the GamesFirst! Weekly Wrap-Up. This week Val takes a look at the latest news stories, as well as reviews of Shadow of the Colossus for PS2 and GameTap, the new broadband gaming service for PC. She also has a preview of the very intriguing second-generation Xbox 360 title, Crackdown, which comes from the creator of the original GTA and Lemmings. You know you want it, and it\'s right here.
click here for more

GF! Weekly Wrap-Up Numero Ten-o
podcast | 11/04/05 | Val Townsend
This week in the Wrap-Up, Val Townsend, the Atomic Goddess, takes us for a ride through the wild world of videogame news. It\'s a beautiful thing: reviews of Far Cry: Instincts and Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga 2, plus a preview of indy game effort Project: Offset, which looks incredible. All of that, plus the latest news in the gaming industry makes this the best 7:37 you\'ll spend this weekend.
click here for more

Search Hints

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our thumb hurts.